Abhidhamma View : Sign of Concentration

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma View : Sign of Concentration

Post by yawares » Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:45 pm

Dear Members,

Today is Uposatha Day..and it's so very cold cold morning!

:candle: Abhidhamma View : Sign of Concentration :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @ SD/JTN]

The cultivation of satipatthana and samma-vayama(the four right exertions) develops samma-samaadhi, while the 'noble eightfold path' is the path of practice for the development of satipatthana (the four foundations of mindfulness; frames of reference). The two suttas below very well touch upon the key ideas, although they neither show how nor explain why.

(1) "Now what is concentration, what qualities are its themes, what qualities are its requisites, and what is its development?"

Arahant Dhammadinna: "Singleness of mind is concentration; the four frames of reference are its themes ; the four right exertions are its requisites; and any cultivation, development, & pursuit of these qualities is its development." [MN 44 ]

Cittassa ekaggataa aya.m samaadhi. Cattaaro satipa.t.thaanaa samaadhinimittaa. Cattaaro sammappadhaanaa samaadhiparikkhaaraa. Yaa tesa.myeva dhammaana.m aasevanaa bhaavanaa bahuliikamma.m, aya.m tattha samaadhi bhaavanaati.

http://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka ... .than.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

(2) "And what is the path of practice to the development of the frames of reference? Just this noble eightfold path: right view, right resolve, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration. This is called the path of practice to the development of the frames of reference." [SN 47.40]
http://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka ... .than.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Satipatthana is the 'samaadhi nimitta' since a successful contemplation of kaya, vedana, citta, and dhamma abandons the hindrances, and the meditator then enters the first jhaana. The four right exertions are the support for right concentration (all four jhaanas) simply because their lacking -- due to the presence of various mental defilements-- would cause mental distractions.
Since the practice of sense restraint (resulting in the three wholesome conducts) together with right livelihood are requisites for the freedom from unwholesome states, thus it follows that the arising of 'samaadhi nimitta' depends on these factors of the noble path; in other words, the 'noble eightfold path' (magga) is the path of practice for the development of Satipatthana.

By the way, I used to believe that Satipatthaana develops the noble eightfold path.

:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,
yawares/sirikanya :heart:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests