Abhidhamma View : Requisites of Enlightenment(2)

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma View : Requisites of Enlightenment(2)

Post by yawares » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:17 pm

Dear Members,

:candle: Abhidhamma View : Requisites of Enlightenment(2) :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @ SariputtaDhamma/JTN/Mult]

CMA VII, p.279-281:

There are four supreme efforts (sammappadahaanaa): 1. the effort to discard evil states that have arisen, 2. the
effort to prevent the arising of unarisen evil states, 3.the effort to develop unarisen wholesome states, 4. the
effort to augment arisen wholesome states. Here one mental factors, energy, performs four separate functions.
This fourfold effort is identical with right effort, the sixth factor of the Noble Eightfold Path.

There are four means to accomplishment (iddhipaada): the means to accomplishment consisting of 1. desire, 2.
energy, 3. consciousness, 4. investigation. The word idddhi here signifies all sublime and supramundane states to
be accomplished by applying effort to the practice of the Buddha's teaching. The principal methods of achieving
these are called the means of accomplishment.
These are identical with the four predominants (1. predominance of
desire, 2. predominance of energy, 3. predominance of consciousness, 4. predominance of investigation). However,
while these states become predominant(adhipati) on any occasion when they are instrumental in accomplishing a
goal, they become iddhipaada only when they are applied to achieving the goal of the Buddha's teaching. The
expression iddhipaada extends to both mundane and supramundane states.

There are five faculties: the faculties of 1. faith, 2. energy, 3. mindfulness, 4. concentration, 5. wisdom.
There are five powers: the powers of 1. faith, 2. energy, 3. mindfulness, 4. concentration, 5. wisdom.

The faculties and powers comprise the same five factors, though different functions are attached to the two
categories. The faculties are factors which exercise control in their respective domains, while the powers are
these same factors considered as being unshakable by their opposites.
Thus the five faculties exercise control in
the respective spheres of resolution(adhimokkha), exertion(paggaha), awareness(upa.t.thaana), non-distraction(avikkhepa), and discernment(dassana); in so doing they help to overcome their opposites --indecision, laziness, negligence, agitation, and delusion. The five powers are these same states considered as unwavering and as incapable of being overcome by their opposites.

In the development of the faculties, faith and wisdom are to be balanced to avoid the extremes of blind credulity
and intellectual cleverness
; energy and concentration are to be balanced to avoid restless agitation and sluggish
immobility of mind. But strong mindfulness is always necessary, for mindfulness oversees the development of the
other faculties and ensures taht they are kept in balance.

:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,
yawares/sirikanya :heart:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests