Abhidhamma View : Faculties

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma View : Faculties

Post by yawares » Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:17 pm

Dear Members,

:candle: Abhidhamma View : Faculties :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @ SariputtaDhamma/JTN/Mult]

CMA VII, p. 273:
There are twenty-two faculties(indriya): 1. The eye faculty, 2. the ear, 3. the nose faculty, 4. the tongue faculty, 5. the body faculty, 6. the feminity faculty, 7. the masculinity faculty, 8. the life faculty, 9. the mind faculty, 10. the pleasure faculty, 11. the pain faculty, 12. the joy faculty, 13. the displeasure faculty, 14. the equanimity faculty, 15. the faith faculty, 16. the energy faculty, 17. the mindfulness faculty, 18. the concentration faculty, 19. the faculty, "I will know the unknown", 21. the faculty of final knowledge, 22. the faculty of one who has final knowledge.

The faculties are phenomena which exercise control in their respective domains over their associated states. The first five faculties are identified with the five physical sensitivities; the two sexual faculties 6-7 with the two material phenomena of sex; the life faculty 8 is twofold, as the mental life faculty and the physical life faculty. The mind faculty 9 is consciousness (citta) in its entirety, that is, all eighty-nine cittas. The five faculties of feeling were discussed in Chapter III. The five spiritual faculties are: faith, energy, mindfulness, concentration, wisdom.

Herein, among the faculties it is explained that the faculty "I will know the unknown" is the knowledge of the path of stream-entry; the faculty of one who has final knowledge is the knowledge of the fruit of arahanship; the faculty of final knowledge is the six intermediate kinds of supramundane knowledge. The life faculty is twofold --physical and mental.

The five types of sense consciousness are merely simple confrontations with their respective objects. Because their function and physical base are weak, and they occupy an elementary place in the cognitive process, they cannot engage in a close contemplation of the object, and thus their concomitant feeling and one-pointedness do not acquire the stature of jhaana factors. Moreover, initial application(vitakka) is the foundation of jhaana factors, and in the five types of sense consciousness initial application is absent, not because it has been transcended (as in the higher jhaanas) but because they are too primitive in function to include it.
:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests