Married to an alcoholic

Balancing family life and the Dhamma, in pursuit of a happy lay life.
kowachka

Married to an alcoholic

Post by kowachka »

Hello! I have a difficult life situation and I am looking for a Buddhists way of dealing with it.

Anyways, I am married to an alcoholic, that can be very verbally abusive. He never hit me but there were a few situations when I should've called the police, but I was too scared. When he is sober he has some anger issues but when he is drunk it's bad. For the last 2 years I've been trying to help him however I could. He doesn't want to seek professional help. Sometimes he gets better but after a short while it goes back to where it was, maybe even worth.

I have mixed feelings. On one hand I am tired of trying to help someone that doesn't want to except any help. On the other hand I feel bad for the guy. Its hard to watch him go down like this. But I don't trust him anymore, don't feel safe.

I am very new to Buddhism, so any advise, personal opinion, recommendations to texts would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
tiltbillings

Re: Married to an alcoholic

Post by tiltbillings »

It is a difficult situation in which you find yourself. Check out, before you need it, women's shelters. Call them, and they can direct you to support help. Also, while it is not Buddhist, Al-Anon may be a good source for dealing with your situation.
>> Do you see a man wise [enlightened/ariya] in his own eyes? There is more hope for a fool than for him.<< -- Proverbs 26:12

This being is bound to samsara, kamma is his means for going beyond. -- SN I, 38.

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” HPatDH p.723
TheNoBSBuddhist

Post by TheNoBSBuddhist »

kowachka wrote:Hello! I have a difficult life situation and I am looking for a Buddhists way of dealing with it.