Different methods of Vipassana?

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
ChooChoo

Different methods of Vipassana?

Post by ChooChoo »

How many different methods of Vipassana came out of Burma? I am just learning about Mahasi and read about Mogok sayadaw on here. Are there any others? Where can I learn more a bout them?
mikenz66

Re: Different mehtods of Vipassana?

Post by mikenz66 »

From listening to talks and reading, my impression is that that a large variety of meditation approaches were developed in Theravada-oriented countries (not just Burma). A relatively small number are known in the West because Western students became involved with them.

See this post, for example:
Living Dharma/Buddhist Masters. Baraz/Kornfield.
viewtopic.php?t=25644

:heart:
Mike
Sabbe_Dhamma_Anatta

Post by Sabbe_Dhamma_Anatta »

First let me quote one of my posts, ... deleted some parts unrelated to this topic.
Sabbe_Dhamma_Anatta wrote: Tue Feb 26, 2019 2:52 pm ...

Before me is a volume of an 1600-page work of art in Burmese, elaborating the different techniques for vipassana by 81 well revered Maha Theras in Myanmar. Some of them may be quite familiar to interested foreigners: Ledi, Webu, Taung Pu Lu, Mahasi, Mogok, Pa Uk, Shwe Oo Min, etc. (many great next generation teachers instructing similar methods are not included in the tome, if they are in the same traditions, for example U Pandita, and Chanmyay Sayadaw of Mahasi tradition).

There's a technique by a strange named called "a Maha Thera who don't want his name to be known". However, his technique is not strange: simply based on Maha Satipatthana sutta.

One of them, after illuminating the technique to the public at times in the retreats in or near the forests, "ran away" from the crowd to some unknown forest and his where-about is currently unknown.

Some digested the whole Tipitaka & accompanied commentaries into heart. Some was abhidhamma genius.

For some of them jhana first; for the others, not.