Quick question re Mahasi Method

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
Myotai

Quick question re Mahasi Method

Post by Myotai »

....when noting say a noise (birds tweeting outside for instance) at what point do we returning to the abdomen and leave the sound. Its tricky as some sounds don’t wane…they’re sort of ‘there’ – so how do we not notice them anymore and return? <terrible grammar>!
JohnK

Re: Quick question re Mahasi Method

Post by JohnK »

Myotai wrote: Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:42 pm ....when noting say a noise (birds tweeting outside for instance) at what point do we returning to the abdomen and leave the sound. Its tricky as some sounds don’t wane…they’re sort of ‘there’ – so how do we not notice them anymore and return? <terrible grammar>!
I'm no Mahasi expert, but I have heard teachers refer to the foreground and background of attention; so, for example, the sound that does not wane could return to the background as your attention to the abdomen returns to the foreground. I think the foreground and background could do some rapid flipping back and forth until attention potentially settles down. Maybe that is helpful.
Maybe Bhikkhu Pesala will post.
Those who grasp at perceptions & views wander the internet creating friction. [based on Sn4:9,v.847]
Myotai

Post by Myotai »

Thanks....I'll read a little further :)
Goofaholix

Post by Goofaholix »

Myotai wrote: Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:42 pm ....when noting say a noise (birds tweeting outside for instance) at what point do we returning to the abdomen and leave the sound. Its tricky as some sounds don’t wane…they’re sort of ‘there’ – so how do we not notice them anymore and return? <terrible grammar>!
An important distinction is that you never note noise, you note hearing. Sound happens inside the mind when the eardrums convert vibration to sound and you need to be noting the internal sense contact not what birds are doing externally.