Need help on Anapanasati - short sighs

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
ganegaar

Need help on Anapanasati - short sighs

Post by ganegaar »

When I meditate Anapanasati, I am just aware of my breath, and after some time comes a phase where I get sudden "sighs", it is a very short involuntary sigh, almost shakes my entire body at times!. It is as though i was out of breath, and suddenly try to gasp. At times the sigh is so powerful that i tend to open my eyes and kind of thrown away from where i was!.

This might come after say about 30 minutes of sitting, and then might repeat every 2 or 3 minutes sometimes, and sometimes goes away for longer periods.
When it comes, I think my mind is sort of restless (some sort of uddacca/kukkucca), and also the concentration is rather diluted.

Do anyone have similar experiences?
Do I need to correct something, what would it be?

Any other advice is welcome!, thank you.
Please note that, I am not a absolute beginner, but I am not an advanced mediator either!.
Sīlepatiṭṭhāya naro sapañño, cittaṃ paññañca bhāvayaṃ;
Ātāpī nipako bhikkhu, so imaṃ vijaṭaye jaṭanti.
Spiny Norman

Re: Need help on Anapanasati - short sighs

Post by Spiny Norman »

ganegaar wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:52 am It is as though i was out of breath, and suddenly try to gasp.
It might be exactly that. Maybe some residual tension, maybe not breathing deeply enough?
Buddha save me from new-agers!
ganegaar

Post by ganegaar »

Thank you,
maybe not breathing deeply enough?
I am trying not to control breath, just to observe..can it be subconciosly i am making it shorter?
Dhammarakkhito

Post by Dhammarakkhito »

Collectedness of In-&-Out Breathing

"Now how is mindfulness of in-&-out breathing developed & pursued so as to be of great fruit, of great benefit?