Has anyone here experienced any of the stages of insight?

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
zan

Has anyone here experienced any of the stages of insight?

Post by zan » Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:57 pm

I understand what they are but has anyone actually experienced any of them that could explain and answer questions?
I don't have much knowledge of the Dhamma, I'm just a beginner. Keep that in mind before you take anything I say too seriously :tongue:

Psychotropic

Re: Has anyone here experienced any of the stages of insight?

Post by Psychotropic » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:02 am

Insight is not some magical thing that pops up by focusing on a fixed spot. That would be like looking at a dot on a wall and waiting for knowledge to appear by itself.

Insight is said to come from studying dhamma and contemplating it.

befriend

Post by befriend » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:38 am

i have experienced from practicing vipassana doing mahasi method, hopefully i was doing it correctly, at times in my meditation everything became putrid and repulsive, good thoughts were disgusting to me, bad thoughts were disgusting to me, sights, sounds etc... that was as deep as i got with insights i haven't continued doing intensive mahasi method as i do not have access to a teacher at the moment so i stopped because i needed some clarification and guidance.
Take care of mindfulness and mindfulness will take care of you.

befriend

Post by befriend » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:48 am

Psychotropic wrote:Insight is not some magical thing that pops up by focusing on a fixed spot. That would be like looking at a dot on a wall and waiting for knowledge to appear by itself.

Insight is said to come from studying dhamma and contemplating it.
i think zan is talking about the insights you get in meditation that can change how you understand the nature of the world not the understanding you aquire from deep study and contemplation.

zan

Post by zan » Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:08 am