My Jhana Slump - help request

The cultivation of calm or tranquility and the development of concentration
Manopubbangama

My Jhana Slump - help request

Post by Manopubbangama »

So avoiding autobiographical nonessentials, and including potentially relevant clues to me helping myself understand my jhana slump, I write the following, feeling a tad bit uncomfortable speaking about 'attainments' in a public sphere:

Approximately 10 years ago, for the course of roughly 4-6 months, I could attain 1-4 Jhana, seemingly at will.*

At this time, I had not yet even completed the Majjhima Nikaya, much less anything more challenging and was essentially an absolute novice in Buddhism.

My SIla was non-existence, in the sense that I had not disciplined myself to cultivate it.

After going to a few "buddhist" groups where people threw on some Korean pajamas and called it "Zen", I became disenchanted with any group of Buddhism in my area, and desired to strictly cultivate a Theravadin point of view, and this was not the point of departure yet where I "lost" the ability.

My family went through several traumatic incidents, one was where my daughter almost died of a grave sickness, and we were uprooted from any semblance of routine that had existed prior: this was also during the greatest economic slump since the Great Depression, and procuring a material existence took a front seat to spiritual attainments.

Since then, I had tried many times in vain to get back to Samatha, but am essentially unable to do so.

I can do walking meditation, vipassana, Metta, brahmavihara, even mala-bead repetition (which some consider an unorthadox form of Samatha), but cannot enter Jhana anymore.

I have since read the litany of "jhana books" on amazon to no avail.

I try to 'retrace my steps' and figure out what had let me up to this ability in the first place, again, to no avail.