Using Ear Muffs During Meditation?

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
ehensens

Using Ear Muffs During Meditation?

Post by ehensens »

Hello everyone!

My schedule requires that I do my daily sitting early in the morning before work. At this time, my 4 month old son is often quite noisy, sometimes crying and the like, and he is physically close to where I sit (and there is nowhere else in the house that I can easily sit).

I have been using some very powerful ear muffs during my sitting that block out pretty much all sound. On one hand, I know that ideally I should meditate without aversion to specific sounds. On the other hand, I am very new to the practice (only around 7 months) and I am attempting to build my samadhi and I feel like silence is the best way to do so.

I've heard very respectable people give various teachings on this subject. Larry Rosenberg talks about a specific retreat at the Insight Meditation Society in which construction noise at the retreat center bothered the meditators, but Larry insisted that a pleasant noise and an unpleasant noise are the same in that neither should be attached to and neither should prevent meditation. I see his point.

However, I've also seen a YouTube video in which Bhante G. talks about the various levels of Jhana and he specifically talks about setting up the environment just right - turning on a humidifier, making sure the dog isn't going to disrupt you, etc.

Does anyone have any opinions on this subject, i.e. is it skillful/unskillful to specifically create silence during your meditation as opposed to just being with whatever is in your environment?

Thank you very much in advance for any thoughts! :thanks:
mikenz66

Re: Using Ear Muffs During Meditation?

Post by mikenz66 »

Hi ehensens