Samatha Meditation instructions

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
boundless

Samatha Meditation instructions

Post by boundless »

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner. Since last summer I have been practicizing "vipassana" meditation. However, I am now interested also in the "samatha" since I am very prone to anxiety ecc

Is there some reliable "guide" in the net for the samatha?

Thank you in advance
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Re: Samatha Meditation instructions

Post by Sam Vara »

Hi boundless,

The best instruction I have received was via this organisation:

https://www.samatha.org/

The best option is to attend a class in person (I don't know where you are based) but you will see that they also do an online version.

Failing that, Googling the title that you have given this thread will bring up lots of different sets of instructions. You could shop around among these, and, of course, include other recommendations that you are given here.
boundless

Post by boundless »

Sam Vara wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:48 pm Hi boundless,

The best instruction I have received was via this organisation:

https://www.samatha.org/

The best option is to attend a class in person (I don't know where you are based) but you will see that they also do an online version.

Failing that, Googling the title that you have given this thread will bring up lots of different sets of instructions. You could shop around among these, and, of course, include other recommendations that you are given here.
Thank you very much for the link!

At the present moment I have some difficulties to go to organized classes. But I think I will go as soon as possibile.

As I said I have some anxiety issues, but I am quite confident that the "samatha" meditation will help!
jmccoy

Post by jmccoy »

I'm also a beginner and therefore have a dumb question.