Meditation and Mindfulness

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
one_awakening

Meditation and Mindfulness

Post by one_awakening » Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:46 am

I've been meditating and performing vipassana meditation for several years and come to realise there's no real difference between meditation and mindfulness.

Both have a concentration aspect that keeps the mind on a particular object. Both involve being aware of the present moment, and that awareness involves being aware of the object and knowing fhe object,

What do people think?
“You only lose what you cling to”

santa100

Re: Meditation and Mindfulness

Post by santa100 » Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:09 pm

They indeed work together, as Ven. Thanissaro's decribed in "Path of Concentration & Mindfulness"

paul

Post by paul » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:06 pm

“Both involve being aware of the present moment,”

I doubt if your understanding of mindfulness is comprehensive. As well as being aware of present events, mindfulness involves putting that awareness into a remembered Dhamma context. That is the way the raw material of the present, which is itself driven by ignorance, becomes transformed into profitable progress along the path :

“ …it remembers lessons drawn from right view in the past- both lessons from reading and listening to the Dhamma, as well as lessons from reading the results of your own actions- that can be used to shape this activity in a more skilful direction…This means that right mindfulness doesn’t simply observe fabrications, nor is it disinterested. It’s motivated by the aim of right view: to put an end to suffering.”—“Right Mindfulness”, Thanissaro Bikkhu.