Where Did I Go?

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
walker8476

Where Did I Go?

Post by walker8476 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:04 pm

I've been meditating for about ten years now but lately I get to a point where I have a very still mind, no thoughts and no awareness of my body. There's a feeling of losing myself, like there is no me anymore. It's very disconcerting. Just wondering if anyone else has had similar experiences.

CedarTree

Re: Where Did I Go?

Post by CedarTree » Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:31 pm

The problem with language and subjective states is they lead a lot open to interpretation.

What you are describing though is very common. Have you managed to pass the threshold were there is a "letting go" or when it comes to this point is there to much resistance for that or a movement into more coarse mental states?

Practice, Practice, Practice

walker8476

Post by walker8476 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:47 pm

CedarTree wrote:The problem with language and subjective states is they lead a lot open to interpretation.

What you are describing though is very common. Have you managed to pass the threshold were there is a "letting go" or when it comes to this point is there to much resistance for that or a movement into more coarse mental states?
Yes I get to a point where there is no clinging or desire for anything. However after a certain amount of time, I feel like going back a step where my mind is still calm, with no thoughts or desires, but I am aware of my body and aware that I exist.

CedarTree

Post by CedarTree » Sat Aug 05, 2017 2:14 am

Can you be a bit more detailed and really make your writing clear.

It will help a bit as I am thinking you may have found a common "comfortable" space that meditators find but that can lack any movement towards further progress.