Practice

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
madhusameer1

Practice

Post by madhusameer1 »

Hi, I am a practitioner of Vipassana Meditation. I had been meditating for over 12 years, but fell off 2 years ago due to family related problems. I restarted a few months ago. Just a few days ago, I started having a throbbing headache during a meditation session. It starts at the base of my neck, and covers the back of my head. I can ignore/let go of teh rest of the headache, but this part is very intrusive. I have never experienced something like this before. It stays with me throughout the day....

Wondering why, after all these years, and if there is something I am doing wrong.

M
chownah

Re: Practice

Post by chownah »

You are older now and perhaps you are not getting enough exercise of the right kind. I recommend swimming if you have access to a facility.
chownah
madhusameer1

Post by madhusameer1 »

Thank you. I live in a very cold place, and there are extremely few swimming pools here. Is there any other exercise I can engage in?

M
santa100

Post by santa100 »

madhusameer1 wrote:Thank you. I live in a very cold place, and there are extremely few swimming pools here. Is there any other exercise I can engage in?

M
Jogging outdoor. The best cardio and also the cheapest exercise. Make sure you get a decent pair of running shoes though and start out nice and easy if you've never done it before. Then gradually build up your stamina..
form

Post by form »

Consult a doctor. There could be underlying problem if that is persistent.
purple1

Post by purple1 »