longer sits for beginners

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
Birdy

longer sits for beginners

Post by Birdy »

I went up to a buddhist house the other day and talked with a lady there about a meditation problem. I told her that I was a beginner and of the things she advised me to do as we talked about beginner meditation was never to sit longer than 20 minutes. However I am not an absolute beginner and at that point I had been sitting every day for over two weeks and the sits were both enjoyable and fruitful. I was well into the groove and my problem was actually that I live next to a semi busy road and I was wondering if this might be inhibiting me from reaching jhana easily. So no problems with the practice itself so far.

However i feel that one of the reasons i now find it so easy to discipline myself every day is because of how much i enjoyed and benefitted from a few of the longer sits i did in that period. Longer as in 30-50 mins. Those times i did those i didnt actually plan to, but i just kept sitting past the 20 mins and found that for about every 10 mins longer that i would sit i would always be at a deeper and more pleasant level than 10 mins ago. I want to do this again. I almost feel like a half-ass now for only sitting 20 mins haha. Anyway I was curious as to your thoughts :) if i dont recieve any decent criticism then im going to resume the occasional longer sits.

With kindness :)

Birdy.
Student of Vipassana - Birdy.
Ben

Re: longer sits for beginners

Post by Ben »

Greetings Birdy,
I think it was Buddhaghosa who said that 'Noise is a thorn to jhana'.
But you can support your meditation practice by ensuring you maintain your precepts, engage in Dana, selfless service and study. These are probably more important than a perfect meditation place.