Ordaning Now or Studying Abroad (Dilemma)

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
unseeingdog

Ordaning Now or Studying Abroad (Dilemma)

Post by unseeingdog » Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:10 pm

Hello everyone,

I have resorted to making this post because I am heavily in doubt regarding probably the most important choice of my life.

Since before I started practicing buddhism, my dream has been to study abroad. I live in Central America and here we don't really have a lot of opportunities for the field I wish to get into (software engineering/computer science), so I have always wanted to move to a place where I could have better education and job opportunities. Fortunately the dream seems to be coming true - me and my parents have been able to get everything we needed to make it happen this year. I should be leaving around the 31st of August.

On the other hand, ever since I began practicing meditation, I knew I wanted to become a monk. But I always imagined it in the far future.
The past few months however, my confidence and dedication to the Dhamma has grown unexpectedly fast, which caused me to lose desire for almost everything which motivated me to study abroad in the first place. I don't claim to be enlightened but I think I have come a long way in developing dispassion.

So I now feel like there's no point in leaving to study, making my parents pay for all that if I'm basically just going to become a beggar in a couple years. I would even feel obliged to pay them back for what they gave me, just so they don't feel I wasted their money and time. That would mean I would have to postpone ordination even further. I'm not even sure to what extent work life (and just living in the world in general) is a compromise to the practice, but I think there's no doubt one is better off without it if one truly wishes to go all in, which I do.