bad knees. want to ordain. is it possible?

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
[email protected]

bad knees. want to ordain. is it possible?

Post by [email protected] »

Hello,
This is my first post.My name is Ed. Ive been practicing for close to ten years. First in the Rinzai Zen tradition and spent some time in a local monastery then in the Thai Forest tradition and I lived in a new Ajahn Chah branch monastery in NewHampshire 3 separate times for a few months each time.
I noticed after longer periods of living in monasteries that my knees were in very bad shape. The pain went away after sitting in a chair for a few weeks. I have flat feet, little girly legs with no muscle, and Ive been a runner most of my life. I also have tights hips which isnt helping either. Ive been trying yoga too and it helps and I quit running long distance and I do more strength training but any crosslegged sitting or kneeling messes my knees up.
Now for my question. For a lay practitioner this doesnt really matter. I never minded sitting in a chair. But my dream is to ordain. Especially after living in monasteries for a while there is nothing else in my life I can see myself doing. The asian tradition of sitting on the floor seems to be total throughout all traditions. In the west its much more common to see a lay person sitting in a chair above a monk but ive never seen a monk sitting in a chair. I asked the Ajahn and he said I couldnt possibly ordain without sitting on the floor. He said there was a monk at Abayagiri in CA who sat in a chair but this was only after a diagnosis from a doctor and there was a monk at the same monastery I was at in NH who did the same thing before I arrived. He said until I get a diagnosis from a doctor I couldnt sit in a chair.