A day in the life of a novice Buddhist monk

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
JamesTheGiant

A day in the life of a novice Buddhist monk

Post by JamesTheGiant »

I am a novice monk (almost six months now) and this is a fairly plain account of my day, in an English-speaking monastery of the forest tradition of Ajahn Chah. The monastery will remain anonymous please, and you can call me Bhante Lucky.

Those of you who have stayed at monasteries will not find anything new here, but to those who are perhaps considering ordaining and who have not stayed at a monastery, this may be interesting.

4.00am I am woken by my alarm, and semi-concious I drink the cold instant coffee I had put beside my bed the night before, in an old jamjar. 3 tsp sugar, 1tsp coffee. Ugh. Then I go back to sleep.

4.30am I wake up again and turn off the alarm clock which is on the far side of the room, so I have to get out of bed to do it. Otherwise I will be tempted to snooze for another hour or two. I really hate mornings.
Then, fortified by caffeine, I dress warmly and go outside to do 30 minutes of walking meditation in the dark, with a candle at each end of the walking path.

5.15am Back inside to do 30 minutes of sitting meditation now that I am safely awake.

5.45am The night sky is slowly beginning to lighten but I still need a flashlight and candles in the hut. I potter around preparing for the day, tidying up, putting things in my bag, gathering my robe, bowl, mug, etc. I try to do everything mindfully, both now and through the whole day, mainting awareness of what I am doing and why, the sensations, perceptions, habit patterns, etc. I tend to use the very relaxed mindfulness style taught by Sayadaw U Teijania.

6.00am I set off through the forest for half a mile, to the toilet building, with a flashlight to light the way over the difficult parts - over roots, around boulders, etc.