Page 7 of 11

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:11 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:27 pm
by ancientbuddhism
The ‘Five Points’ and the Origins of the Buddhist Schools, by L.S. Cousins

The Buddhist Forum, Vol. II, Seminar Papers 1988-90, pp. 27 – 60

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:17 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 4:27 am
by Sylvester
Good one.

I wonder how the Northern Abhidharmikas would have reacted to DN 9's explanation for how these "thoughtless" states are attained. The Abhidharmikas' debate on "factors" inducing thoughtless states might have some validity for the Jhanas and Arupas, but would not be able to accomodate the asaṅkhata nature of the Attainment of Cessation.

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:19 pm
by ancientbuddhism
Indian Buddhism, by A. K. Warder

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:00 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 2:20 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:02 am
by daverupa
Early Buddhist Transmission and Trade Networks: Mobility and Exchange within and beyond the Northwestern Borderlands of South Asia, by Jason Neelis.

This book examines catalysts for Buddhist formation in ancient South Asia and expansion throughout and beyond the northwestern Indian subcontinent to Central Asia by investigating symbiotic relationships between networks of religious mobility and trade.

In the Preface, he states his preference for material resources over textual ones, and that he makes no attempt at a doctrinal comparison, though the literary sources are "[not] neglected".

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:00 am
by ancientbuddhism
The Message of the Buddha, by K.N. Jayatilleke

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:58 pm
by ancientbuddhism
Principles of Buddhist Psychology, by David J. Kalupahana

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:16 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:26 am
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:11 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:42 pm
by ancientbuddhism

Re: Early Buddhism resources

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:12 pm
by ancientbuddhism
The Spread of Buddhism - HdO Vol. 16, by Ann Heirman and Stephan Peter Bumbacher (Editors)