Piya Tan

Textual analysis and comparative discussion on early Buddhist sects and scriptures.
DNS
Site Admin

Piya Tan

Post by DNS »

Piya Tan is a former Theravada monk (of 20 years) and continues to write on the Dhamma. He has some very good articles. His most recent one:

R541 Revisioning Buddhism 202
http://dharmafarer.org/wordpress/wp-con ... -RB202.pdf

Beginning excerpt:
Buddhist agnosticism

After nearly 50 years of seeking and studying religion and ending up choosing to practise Buddhism, I have given up all forms of Buddhism except early Buddhism, with which I have been Iiving for nearly 2 decades now. Why stand in the shadows of foreign cultures and exotic cults when we can bask in the bright healthy sunshine of early Buddhism?

As I study more of the early Buddhist texts more closely—translating and analyzing them, and writing modern commentaries on them—I find that I am beginning to know less and less, but understanding ever better. It’s like learning a language. At first you read the primer, then the grammars, conversations, essays and debates. But when you have mastered the language, you simply enjoying communicating with people, or delving into the wealth of its literature, drama and meditations. You begin to love the culture and the people. So, it is for me with the Buddha Dhamma.
User1249x

Re: Piya Tan

Post by User1249x »

I think he is onto something essential to human condition and understanding the Dhamma.

I used to listen to a lot of talks by Jacque Fresco in my studies of communication and he used to talk quite a lot about how people seek to participate in conversations in which they are not qualified to participate in, instead of being aware of their own short comings and gathering more accurate information before making any decisions or statements they engage in meaningless discussion and project their views as reality.