Consciousness in Nibbana?

Textual analysis and comparative discussion on early Buddhist sects and scriptures.
DCM

Consciousness in Nibbana?

Post by DCM »

Hi, I'm studying the Digha Nikaya and I have a question about Sutta number 11, the Kevaddha Sutta ( What Brahma Didn't Know). A monk asks the Buddha;
"Lord, where do these four great elements — the earth property, the liquid property, the fire property, and the wind property — cease without remainder?"

To which the Buddha replies that that should not be the question, but;
"Your question should not be phrased in this way: Where do these four great elements — the earth property, the liquid property, the fire property, and the wind property — cease without remainder? Instead, it should be phrased like this:

Where do water, earth, fire, & wind
have no footing?
Where are long & short,
coarse & fine,
fair & foul,
name & form
brought to an end?
"'And the answer to that is:

"Consciousness without feature,[1]
without end,
luminous all around:
Here water, earth, fire, & wind
have no footing.
Here long & short
coarse & fine
fair & foul
name & form
are all brought to an end.
With the cessation of [the activity of] consciousness
each is here brought to an end.'"

Is the Buddha talking about Nibbana here? And is he in this Sutta saying that there is a type of consciousness in Nibbana that is luminous, etc?
paul

Re: Consciousness in Nibbana?

Post by paul »

Thanissaro writes there is a particular type of consciousness which directly experiences nibbana (see also MN 49):

“The consciousness attained through this release is the only type of awareness that the Canon recognises as truly unconditioned, for— unlike every other form of consciousness— it can be known without recourse to sensory contact, even contact at the intellect.”—-“Right Mindfulness”, Thanissaro.

Previous discussion:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=29115
DCM

Post by DCM »