Āgama translation questions

Textual analysis and comparative discussion on early Buddhist sects and scriptures.
Coëmgenu

Āgama translation questions

Post by Coëmgenu »

Split from this thread.
atipattoh wrote:无为 is not 无所为, i’m not aware of if there is an opposite of 无为, but there is an escalation of 无为, that is 无(所)不为。
I am highly baffled by the usage of 所 in Chinese Buddhist literature, what does it mean by your reckoning? The dictionaries and textbooks I have consulted give an extremely wide range of meanings. What do you think "无所为" means? I am only a novice at Classical Chinese, but I hope to get better, for the purposes of reading the āgamāḥ in their source-language.
atipattoh wrote:(无)(不) ie. (-)*(-)=(+)
Can you clarify this statement? I am unsure what you mean.
Last edited by Coëmgenu on Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
What is the Uncreated?
Sublime & free, what is that obscured Eternity?
It is the Undying, the Bright, the Isle.
It is an Ocean, a Secret: Reality.
Both life and oblivion, it is Nirvāṇa.
atipattoh

Re: Āgama translation questions

Post by atipattoh »

‘所’ in 无所为 is meant to differentiate from 无为 as 无为 has a special meaning on its own.
无所为 means 不为.

无 (non) 不 (no), similar like ‘isn’t no’ in English as in "There isn't no sunshine!" & 无不为 extend more than that; not just double negative, which makes it positive again; it meant to emphasize as well. So in 道, 无为才能无不为。Due to 道 that 无为 has a special ‘status’, so ‘所’ has to be added if it meant to say not doing.
Coëmgenu

Post by Coëmgenu »

I've been making my way through SA 276, 難陀說法/"Nandā expounds Dharma", and I've encountered an unusual sequence of characters:

答言:「不也,尊者難陀!所以者何?
[The Buddha] answering[,] said: "Not so, respected one Nandā! If because-of that why?

尊者難陀!我已曾於六外入處如實觀察無我,
Respected one Nandā! I hereafter in six external [and] internal dwellings [of] self-evidence [via] insight observed lack [of an] 'I',

我常作此意解,六外入處如實無我。」