Jewels or Crap? That is the question.

Post sayings and stories you find interesting or useful.
Lombardi4

Jewels or Crap? That is the question.

Post by Lombardi4 »

*I posted this earlier today on Facebook. Thought it would make sense to post it here as well.*

OK, this one is graphic, I must admit, and it may be a bit controversial or it may be liked, I don't know. My hope is to make people think twice before they think. Not that I am a teacher or anything, so I probably shouldn't even share this; as a matter of fact, it was intended solely for my own use, but seeing how it actually works, it may be of benefit to others. I came up with this simile (quite humourous we must admit) while I was in the bathroom this morning! I find great benefit from it because it greatly encourages me to think only wholesome, positive thoughts and avoid and abandon all unwholesome and negative thoughts -- not even one of those latter ones is allowed!

And later, I recalled that Ajahn Brahm taught the same thing, only he used the simile of the two chicken farmers -- the one who collected only the chicken shit of the past [negative memories] and the one who collected only the eggs [the past positive memories], so I believe my simile is valid.
Also, disclaimer: people change; so anyone can become a jewel, no matter what they used to be in the past by transforming their negative mindset into a positive one!

(Another disclaimer, both pictures were downloaded from the Internet, in case anyone was curious...)

_______

Any negative thought (or word, deed or anything else that is bad) is like a used toilet paper full of shit, and your mind becomes like the rubbish bin that holds it. Imagine a bin full of used toilet papers! It is bound to drive you crazy and drive people away from you because your mind stinks!