Six Sensuous Celestial Planes !!

Post sayings and stories you find interesting or useful.
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Six Sensuous Celestial Planes !!

Post by yawares » Sat May 26, 2012 2:18 pm

Dear Members,

While I was walking meditation at 5AM, the sky was so dark, the moon was hiding behind the clouds
and I wondered what would be like to be up there in heavens??

[Presented by my dear friend Dr.Han Tun, MD at JTN]

The Six Sensuous Celestial Planes (deva-planes) are as follows counting from the
lowest level.

(i) Catumahaaraajikaa: The lowest of the heavenly realms where the four guardian
deities reside with their followers. Some lower beings of this plane have their
dwellings on earth.

(ii) Taavati.msaa: The realm of 33 devas and their followers. Sakka, the king of
the devas, reside in this celestial plane.

(iii) Yaamaa: The realm of great happiness where the Yaamaa devas are presided
over by their ruler, the divine king of Suyaama or Yaama.

(iv) Tusitaa: The Delightful Realm. This is the abode of a Bodhisatta in his
last existence before attaining Buddhahood.

(v) Nimmaanarati: The heaven of the devas who can create objects of sensual
enjoyment by thought, in accordance with their desires.

(vi) Paranimmita-vasavataa: The heaven of the devas who do not create such
objects themselves, but they bring under their sway things created by their

Love Buddha's dhamma,

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests