Citta-sankharas and other emotions

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:56 pm

Citta-sankharas and other emotions

Post by greenjuice »

When enumerating citta-sankharas various emotions are enumerated:

"The fourteen unwholesome mental factors are:

Four universal unwholesome mental factors (akusalasādhāraṇa):
Moha - delusion
Ahirika - lack of shame
Anottappa - disregard for consequence
Uddhacca - restlessness

Three mental factors of the greed-group (lobha):
Lobha - greed
Diṭṭhi - wrong view
Māna - conceit

Four mental factors of the hatred-group (dosa)
Dosa - hatred
Issā - envy
Macchariya - miserliness
Kukkucca - regret

Other unwholesome mental factors
Thīna - sloth
Middha - torpor
Vicikicchā - doubt"

Other than this also other mental factors are given, totaling 52. What i noticed is there are no sadness and fear anywhere mentioned among mental factors. Not to mention other emotions, but these two are generally considered among basic emotions, so i found it curious they were not mentioned. Are they mentioned in some other enumeration? Also, does Buddhism has a systematization of emotions specifically?

User avatar
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:32 am

Re: Citta-sankharas and other emotions

Post by Volo »

Both of them are considered to be forms of dosa, because dosa is about not wanting something, same as fear or sadness. There might be incalculable number of emotions, but they come down to the combination of the basic 52 states.

Posts: 13892
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:49 am

Re: Citta-sankharas and other emotions

Post by SarathW »

I agree with Volo.
That is my understanding is too.
“As the lamp consumes oil, the path realises Nibbana”

Post Reply