Abhidhamma View : Knowledge of Disenchantment

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma View : Knowledge of Disenchantment

Post by yawares » Sat Oct 27, 2012 11:51 am

Dear Members,

:candle: Abhidhamma View : Knowledge of Disenchantment :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @ sariputtadhamma/JTN]

Knowledge of Disenchantment
Dis·en·chant : [tr.v.] To free from illusion or false belief; undeceive. [vb.] to make disappointed or disillusioned

The knowledge of disenchantment is supported by knowledge of rise-and-fall, knowledge of dissolution, knowledge of the fearful, and Knowledge of danger.

1) Knowledge of rise and fall (udayabbaya~naa.na): This is the same knowledge as that which preceded the imperfections of insight, but when the imperfections have been overcome, it now matures and develops with increased strength and clarity.

2) Knowledge of dissolution (bhanga~naa.na): When the meditator's knowledge becomes keen, he no longer extends his mindfulness to the arising or presence of formations, but brings it to bear only on their cessation, destruction, fall, and breakup. This is knowledge of dissolution.

3) Knowledge of the fearful (bhaya~naa.na): As the meditator contemplates the dissolution of formations in all three periods of time, he recognizes that all such dissolving things in all realms of existence are necessarily fearful.

4) Knowledge of danger (aadiinava~naa.na): By recognizing that all formations are fearful, the meditator sees them as utterly destitute of any core or any satisfaction and as nothing but danger. He also understands that only in the unconditioned, free from arising and destruction, is there any security.

5) Knowledge of disenchantment (nibbida~naa.na): When he sees all formations as danger, he becomes disenchanted with them, and takes no delight in the field of formations belonging to any realm of existence. [CMA IX, p. 352 -354]
Iti 39, Desanaa sutta:

"The Tathagata, worthy and rightly self-awakened, has two Dhamma discourses given in sequence. Which two?

'See evil as evil' ('paapa.m paapakato passathaa'). This is the first Dhamma discourse.

'Having seen evil as evil, become disenchanted there, dispassionate there, released' ('paapa.m paapakato disvaa tattha nibbindatha virajjatha vimuccathaa'). This is the second Dhamma discourse.

:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,
yawares/sirikanya :heart:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests