Abhidhamma View : Purification of the Way

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma View : Purification of the Way

Post by yawares » Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:34 pm

Dear Members,

:candle: Abhidhamma View : Purification of the Way :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @SariputtaDhamma/JTN]

CMA IX, p. 352 - 354:

When he is thus free from those obstacles to progress, as he practices he passes through a succession of insights in regard to the three characteristics, beginning with knowledge of rise and fall and culminating in conformity. These nine insight knowledges are called purification by knowledge and vision of the way.

These nine insight knowledges: The nine insight knowledges that constitute purification by knowledge and vision of the way are as follows:

1) Knowledge of rise and fall: This is the same knowledge as that which preceded the imperfections of insight, but when the imperfections have been overcome, it now matures and develops with increased strength and clarity.

2) Knowledge of dissolution (bhanga~naa.na): When the meditator's knowledge becomes keen, he no longer extends his mindfulness to the arising or presence of formations, but brings it to bear only on their cessation, destruction, fall, and breakup. This is knowledge of dissolution.

3) Knowledge of the fearful (bhaya~naa.na): As the meditator contemplates the dissolution of formations in all three periods of time, he recognizes that all such dissolving things in all realms of existence are necessarily fearful.

4) Knowledge of danger (aadiinava~naa.na): By recognizing that all formations are fearful, the meditator sees them as utterly destitute of any core or any satisfaction and as nothing but danger. He also understands that only in the unconditioned, free from arising and destruction, is there any security.

5) Knowledge of disenchantment (nibbida~naa.na): When he sees all formations as danger, he becomes disenchanted with them, and takes no delight in the field of formations belonging to any realm of existence.

6) Knowledge of desire for deliverance (mu~ncitukamyataa~naa.na) is the desire, arisen in the course of contemplation, of being delivered from the whole field of formations and escaping from it.

7) Knowledge of reflective contemplation (pa.tisankhaa~naa.na): In order to be delivered from the whole field of formations, the meditator again re-examines those same formations, attributing the three characteristics to them in various ways. When he clearly reviews those formations as marked by the three characteristics, this is knowledge of reflective contemplation.

8) Knowledge of equanimity towards formations (sankhaar'upekkhaa~naa.na): After he has passed through the reflective contemplation, the meditator sees nothing in formations to be taken as "I" and "mine", so he abandons both terror and delight and becomes indifferent and neutral towards all formations. Thus there arises in him knowledge of equanimity towards formations.

9) Knowledge of conformity (anuloma~naa.na): This knowledge (also rendered "adaptation") is the knowledge in the sense-sphere cittas that arise preceding the change-of-lineage citta in the cognitive process of the supramundane path (dealt with in the following section). This phase of insight is called conformity because it conforms to the functions of truth both in the preceding eight kinds of insight knowledge and in the path attainment to follow.

************* :anjali:
:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests