Abhidhamma View : Functions of Consciousness, 4-14

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma View : Functions of Consciousness, 4-14

Post by yawares » Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:35 pm

Dear Members,

:candle: Abhidhamma View : Functions of Consciousness, 4-14 :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @ SariputtaDhamma/JTN/Mult]

CMA V, p. 123-124:
(4- 8) Seeing, hearing, smelling, tasting, touching: In the cognitive process at the sense doors, after the moment of adverting, there arises a citta which directly cognizes the impingent object. This citta, and the specific function it performs, is determined by the nature of the object. If the object is a visible form, eye-consciousness arises seeing it; if it is a sound, ear-consciousness arises hearing it, and so forth. In this context the function of seeing and hearing, etc., do not refer to the cognitive acts which explicitly identify the objects of sight and hearing, etc., as such. They signify, rather, the rudimentary momentary occasions of consciousness by which the sense datum is experienced in its bare immediacy and simplicity prior to all identificatory cognitive operations.

(9-11) Receiving, investigating, determining: In the case of a cognitive process through any of the five sense doors, following the citta that performs the function of seeing, etc., there arise in succession cittas that perform the functions of receiving(sampa.ticchana), investigating(santiira.na), and determining(votthapana) the object. In the case of a cognitive process occurring in the mind door independently of the physical senses, these three functions do not occur; rather, mind-door adverting follows immediately upon the cutting off of the bhavanga without any intermediate functions.

(12) Javana: this is a technical term of the Abhidhamma usage that is best left untranslated. The literal meaning of the word is "running swiftly". As a function of consciousness it applies to the stage of the cognitive process that immediately follows the determining stage, and consists of a series of cittas(normally seven, all identical in kind) which run swiftly over the object in the act of apprehending it. The javana stage is the most important from an ethical standpoint, for it is at this point that wholesome or unwholesome cittas originate.

(13) Registration(tadaaramma.na): The word tadaaramma.na means literally "having that object" , and denotes the function of taking as object the object that has been apprehended by the javanas. This function is exercised for two mind-moments immediately after the javana phase in a sense-sphere cognitive process when the object is either very prominant to the senses or clear to the mind. When the object lacks special prominence or clarity, as well as in other types of cognitive process apart from the sense-sphere process, this function is not exercised at all. Following registration (or the javana phase when registration does not occur) the stream of consciousness again lapses back into the bhavanga.

(14) Death(cuti): The death consciousness is the last citta to occur in an individual existence; it is the citta that marks the exit from a particular life. This citta is of the same type as the rebirth-linking consciousness and the bhavanga, and like them it pertains to the process-freed side of existence, the passive flow of the consciousness outside an active cognitive process. It differs from them in that it performs a different function, namely, the function of passing away.

:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,
yawares/sirikanya :heart:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests