Abhidhamma Study: Nibbaana Dhaatu

Discussion of Abhidhamma and related Commentaries

Moderator: Mahavihara moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:23 pm

Abhidhamma Study: Nibbaana Dhaatu

Post by yawares » Wed Jul 25, 2012 11:42 am

Dear Members,

:candle: Abhidhamma Study: Nibbaana Dhaatu :candle:
[Presented by Dr.Tep Sastri @ SD/JTN/Mult]

This post is just a collection of quotes about Nibbana from the various sources.

1. [Chapter VI, Compendium of Matter, Guides #30 and 31, page 258-260 of the CMA:]

Nibbaana is termed supramundane: The concluding section of this chapter deals brieftly with
the fourth ultimate reality, Nibbaana. Etymologically, the word Nibbaana -the Pali form of the better known
Sanskrit nirvaa.na- is derived from a verb nibbaati meaning "to be blown out" or "to be extinguished."
It thus signifies the extinguishing of the worldly "fires" of greed, hatred, and delusion. But the
Pali commentators prefer to treat it as the negation of, or "departure from"(nikkhantatta),
the entanglement(vaana) of craving, the derivation which is offered here. For as long as one
is entangled by craving, one remains bound in sa.msaara, the cycle of birth and death;
but when all craving has been extirpated, one attains Nibbaana, deliverance from the cycle of birth and death.

Though Nibbaana is onefold according to its intrinsic nature, etc.: Nibbaana is a single undifferentiated ultimate reality. It is exclusively supramundane, and has one intrinsic nature(sabhaava), which is that of being the unconditioned deathless element totally transcendent to the conditioned world. Nevertheless, by reference to a basis for distinction, Nibbaana is said to be of twofold. The basis for distinction is the presence or absence of the five aggregates.

The element of Nibbaana as experienced by arahants is called "with the residue remaining"(saupaadisesa) because, though the defilements have all been extinguished, the "residue" of aggregates acquired by past clinging remains through the duration of the Arahant's life. The element of Nibbaana attained with the Arahant's demise is called that "without the residue remaining"(anupaadisesa), because the five aggregates are discarded and are
never acquired again. The two elements of Nibbaana are also called, in the Commentaries, the extinguishment
of the defilements(kilesa-parinibbaana) and the extinguishment of the aggregates(kandha-parinibbaana).

It is threefold according to its different aspects: Nibbaana is called the void(su~n~nta) because it is devoid of greed, hatred, and delusion, and because it is devoid of all that is conditioned. It is called signless(animitta) because it is free from the signs of greed, etc., and free from the signs of all conditioned things. It is called desireless(appa.nihita) because it is free from the hankering of greed, etc., and because it is not desired by craving.

************To be Continued************
:heart: Love Buddha's dhamma,
yawares/sirikanya :heart:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests