Atman

Exploring Theravāda's connections to other paths - what can we learn from other traditions, religions and philosophies?
DarrenM

Atman

Post by DarrenM »

Firstly, I’m not an expert on Hinduism or Atman, but I’ve been reading some of the Hindu views on Atman, which the Buddha seems to reject in the Suttas, or is he??

The Upanishads (Katha Upanisad) talk about 2 selves, 1. the separate Ego self, and, 2. the indivisible Atman self. They say that the separate self Is illusion, impermanent and suffering, whereas the indivisible self is reality, permanent, bliss.

Questions
1. Did the Buddha, in the Suttas, ever differentiate between the 2 selves talked of in the Upanishads? He says that what is impermanent,is suffering and not-self, which would seem to be rejecting the Upanishad impermanent ego self, but I cannot see if he rejects the Upanishad permanent Atman self anywhere?? Does he say what is permanent is suffering?

2. So, is it the case that the Buddha refused to answer questions about the self (SN:44.10) as they do not lead to the end of suffering, and he therefore did not say that there is, or is not a self?? And, where he is refusing to answer, are the questions relating to both the Upanishad ego impermanent self and the Atman permanent self, or just the permanent Atman self?
Perhaps it would help to know what kind of self Vacchagotta believed, In and was asking about.
——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
From a Hindu website; The experience of Atman