Practicing both Theravada and Nichiren Buddhism

Exploring Theravāda's connections to other paths - what can we learn from other traditions, religions and philosophies?
KiwiNFLFan

Practicing both Theravada and Nichiren Buddhism

Post by KiwiNFLFan »

I started practicing Nichiren Buddhism (SGI) late last year, but this year got involved with Theravada Buddhism and took the Triple Refuge a couple of weeks ago. I feel that Theravada is the more authentic Buddhism (and SGI has been accused of not being really Buddhist), but I still have friends at the SGI centre.

My question is: is it possible to practice both Theravada Buddhism and still do Nichiren Buddhist chanting? For those who aren't familiar with Nichiren Buddhism, it was started in the 13th century in Japan by a Buddhist monk ('priest") called Nichiren. Nichiren taught that the Lotus Sutra is the supreme and final teaching of the Buddha, and that Shakyamuni Buddha's teachings have lost their power to save people. Nichiren is typically regarded as the "Buddha of the Latter Day of the Law", and he is said to be the Buddha in the Triple Gem. Their practice involves chanting the mantra 'Nam Myoho Renge Kyo' (homage to the Lotus Sutra) and reciting portions of the Sutra (including part of the 16th chapter which talks about the Eternal Buddha). They do not do meditation as part of their regular practice.

So is it possible to be a Theravada Buddhist and still go along and chant and meet with the people? Also, would saying the prayer thye have where one pays respect to Nichiren as the 'Buddha of the Latter Day of the Law' invalidate one's refuge? (I won't say it again but I have previously).
DNS
Site Admin

Re: Practicing both Theravada and Nichiren Buddhism

Post by DNS »