Happiness Paradox?

Exploring Theravāda's connections to other paths - what can we learn from other traditions, religions and philosophies?
SatiMonster

Happiness Paradox?

Post by SatiMonster »

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to the dhamma and, while reading a piece by Ajahn Chah, was dismayed to read this text (from "The Middle Way Within"):

"We people don't want suffering, we want happiness. But in fact happiness is just a refined form of suffering. Suffering itself is the coarse form. You can compare them to a snake. The head of the snake is unhappiness, the tail of the snake is happiness. The head of the snake is really dangerous, it has the poisonous fangs. If you touch it, the snake will bite straight away. But never mind the head, even if you go and hold onto the tail, it will turn around and bite you just the same, because both the head and the tail belong to the one snake."

However, in other readings, I have gleaned that achieving happiness is, in fact, one goal of studying the dhamma. Should I perhaps construe Chah's "happiness" as "sensual desire" rather than the broader "the state of being content"? Because to reject the latter seems counter to everything that we, as humans, are born (and subsequently conditioned) to feel.

I'm sorry if this is an "amateur hour" question, but Google wasn't helpful.

Thank you! :buddha2:
Q: How do you eat an elephant? A: One bite at a time.
JohnK

Re: Happiness Paradox?

Post by JohnK »

I think you are already very close to understanding correctly. "Pleasant feeling" based on sensual (and mental) contact is craved after and is often mistaken for happiness, but it is not the path to a deeper satisfaction and happiness. Because sensuaI contact can be pleasant, that is the gratification; because it is impermanent, that is the danger; the dhamma is the escape from the craving to a deeper happiness. I suspect others will reply with sutta references (and perhaps corrections to my simple reply).