Meditation for beginners - Anicca

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
newbee

Meditation for beginners - Anicca

Post by newbee »

Hello all,

I'm a beginner and I'm learning about Buddhism.

I read some of the forum posts and frankly speaking I feel intimidated by the depth of the discussions and the intricacies of Buddhist philosophy.
I'm not sure if I'm convinced about the various core beliefs of Buddhism. That's the result of being constantly bombarded by 'only what is factual/tangible exists. ( I'm struggling with concepts like re-birth,heavens-hells/realms ). Nevertheless, when I read the Buddha's discourses I find myself agreeing with portions of them, especially those which address issues that every human has to deal with sometime or other. I find the teaching of Anicca/impermanence relatable.

I don't know where to start or what is the 'proper/traditional way' to go about. At the moment, I want to focus on Anicca as I feel this is something I can relate to and I hope that I'll develop a holistic understanding of the Buddha's teachings gradually.

So how do I realize Anicca practically (say, be aware of the transitory nature of life everyday). Are there any guided meditation teachings for newbies online (audio/video/books)?

( A word about my current capabilities: I don't have prior experience with meditation. I guess I could sit for perhaps 15 minutes to at most.. less than hour. Also, it's not possible for me to access teachers due to location/work-rel. issues, so that makes me a solitary, cyberspace practitioner. )
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Re: Meditation for beginners - Anicca

Post by Sam Vara »

Hi,

Many people practice meditation for insight into impermanence by maintaining steady attention on phenomena, and observing how they change and pass away. There are many different methods for doing this, but lots of them are based on the Satipatthana Sutta

https://www.accesstoinsight.org/lib/aut ... wayof.html