Four kinds of eightfold paths.

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
Post Reply
Posts: 14325
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:49 am

Four kinds of eightfold paths.

Post by SarathW »

I was listening to a Dhamma talk by Ven Kumara Kassapa and understood it as follows.
It appears four kinds of eightfold paths.
1) Noble Eightfold Path leading to Nibbana. (Lokuttara)
2) Noble Eightfold Path leading to higher realms. (Lokiya)
3) Puthujana wholesome eightfold path leading to a happy life now but future indeterminate.
4) Puthujana unwholesome eightfold path leading to unhappy life now and future.

First two are generally discussed in this forum except last two.

Another interesting thing about this is that also apply to the other three truths. (Dukkha, Samudaya, and Nirodha)
However, when we say the Four Noble Truths it applies only to the first one.

The above is not the exact words by the venerable.
However, I like to read your comments on the above view.
“As the lamp consumes oil, the path realises Nibbana”
Post Reply