Stream Entry

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
jasday

Stream Entry

Post by jasday »

How do I experience stream entry?
How will I know when I've experienced stream entry?
I'm a lay person and I'm just beginning to meditate 1-2x per day for 20 minutes each time following the breath and being mindful, and my efforts have proved to show improvement. I have been meditating for years (inconsistently) and now with consistency and I haven't seen too much fruit. I feel more at peace. I feel that I'm better able to follow the path. I've given up alcohol, I've in the last month been going to the sangha. I know the consistency and extra effort: abstaining from alcohol, donating food to the sangha, and meditating at least every day for at least 20 minutes (mindfulness of breathing) is recent, but it's a big leap considering that I've spent years trying to get to this point.

I want to know what it will take to attain stream entry. I enjoy the increasing benefits of happiness the path brings in this life, but I would be very disappointed to find that I fall backwards either in this life or after this life.
Please help.

I need a good answer that will show me the way.

Thanks all!
SarathW

Re: Stream Entry

Post by SarathW »

Technically, Sotapanna is a person who has eradicated three fetters.

The three fetters which the sotāpanna eradicates are:[24][25]

1) Self-view — The view of substance, or that what is compounded (sankhata) could be eternal in the five aggregates (form, feelings, perception, intentions, cognizance), and thus possessed or owned as 'I', 'me', or 'mine'. A sotāpanna doesn't actually have a view about self (sakkāya-ditthi), as that doctrine is proclaimed to be a subtle form of clinging.[26]