What is Vitakka, Avitakka and Savitakka according to Sutta?

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
SarathW

Post by SarathW »

And what is their relation to Jhana?
I appreciate if you can explain this in both Sutta jhana (four fold) and Abhidhamm (five fold) formula.
“As the lamp consumes oil, the path realises Nibbana”
justindesilva

Re: What is Vitakka, Avitakka and Savitakka according to Sutta?

Post by justindesilva »

SarathW wrote: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:45 am What is Vitakka, Avitakka and Savitakka according to Sutta?
I appreciate if you can explain this in both Sutta jhana (four fold) and Abhidhamm (five fold) formula.
As I am not an expert on jhana may I refer this as:
These terms are in reference with meditation whereas vitakka is application of a thought. After vitakka is the step of vicara ( self argumentative application or sustenance). Once the thought (signal) is sustained the stage of not thinking ( avitakka) arrives and is a jhana ( absorption in a signal or thougt) to rapt the meditator in the stage of piti . This is a jhana but keeps the mind relaxed not going in to other thoughts. The next stage is savitakka ( fixed thought or signal) that is also citta ekaggata and or samadhi( one pointedness) of the mind in a thought. This brings in " sukha" which is total relaxation of the mind. ( please also read avitakka sutta).
In fact these three terms vitakka ( application) avitakka
(not thinking of a signal) and savitakka ( engaging the mind on a fixed thought or signal) are stages of jhana ( absorbtion in thought) of the mind getting in to one pointedness or samadhi in stages during meditation often easily observed in anspanasathi or maithri bhavana.
With metta.
DooDoot

Post by DooDoot »

SarathW wrote: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:45 am What is Vitakka, Avitakka and Savitakka according to Sutta?
Searching Sutta Central can find these words: