ignorance avijja origin

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
mansurhirbi87

ignorance avijja origin

Post by mansurhirbi87 »

Brothers and sisters,

If there is no "i", ego, or Creator, what is the origin of our ignorance ? Who created it or who is ignorant ?
Coëmgenu

Re: ignorance avijja origin

Post by Coëmgenu »

AN 10.61 is a go-to sutta for this, it can be interpreted as claiming ignorance as causeless, or it can be interpreted as leaving the question set aside, I think. I am not an expert on this sutta. But that is one direction that might be conducive to answering your question.
Bodhicitta is alien
to all things, meaning the aggregates,
the elements, the fields,
the grasper, and what is grasped.

The phenomena are selfless
and the mind is likewise.
At their root, they are fundamentally unarisen,
like the great void of self-nature.

As the Arhats, the Buddhas, the Lords,
the Bodhisatvas, rouse bodhicitta
and approach the bodhimaṇḍa,
may I too give rise to bodhicitta.

(Vairocanasūtra T848.46b23)
Sam Vara

Post by Sam Vara »

mansurhirbi87 wrote:Brothers and sisters,

If there is no "i", ego, or Creator, what is the origin of our ignorance ? Who created it or who is ignorant ?
I think of ignorance as meaning our being unaware, nescient, lacking heedfulness, or not paying correct attention to what is going on. As such, it is an ongoing condition that affects our mind, rather than a thing that had to originate with a particular being or action. A better question is "What is the continuation of our ignorance?"
A beginning point for ignorance — [such that one might say], "Before this, ignorance did not exist; then it came into play" — cannot be discerned.' This has been said. Nevertheless, it can be discerned, 'Ignorance comes from this condition.' And I tell you, ignorance has its nutriment. It is not without nutriment. And what is the nutriment for ignorance? The five hindrances
http://www.accesstoinsight.org/lib/auth ... part3.html
SarathW