A trip to the Cambodian Buddhist Temple

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
lyndon taylor

A trip to the Cambodian Buddhist Temple

Post by lyndon taylor »

In following this forum, it is clear to me that the vast majority of posters are heavily influenced by the South East Aisan Forest Monk Tradition, believe it or not, the Forest tradition is not representaive of all or most South Easy Asian Therevada traditions, I studied for some time with primarily refugee community Therevada Temples for people from Thailand, Cambodia and Laos, and briefly ordained as a monk at the Loma Linda Thervada Buddhist Temple in Southern California. This is an interview I made with one of the leaders of the Temple, a monk for many years and now a family man, this is from 2011, it is interesting to see how much in common and not in common with what we usually hear on this forum, But I sware to you this is 100% authentic and not made up, simply recounting what the Temple leader told me in the interview.

A visit to the Cambodian Buddhist Temple
formermonkJohn
January 2011 edited January 2011

Today was an exciting day, I got up early and around ten and drove to the local Therevada Cambodian Temple in Loma Linda, California USA. We have almost the largest concentration of refugee immigrants from Cambodia and Vietnam in the USA and at the temple things go on much the same way they do in Asia, white people like me a real rarity and there has been very little "westernization" of the Buddha's message. The monk who speaks good english was away so I talked for 1 1/2 hrs to an old friend who was one of the elders at the temple, attending almost every day and very knowledgeable on the Buddha as he had been a monk for ten years back in Cambodia, before starting a family.