American Buddhist Monk living in Thailand Needs Help!

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
Hannah1

American Buddhist Monk living in Thailand Needs Help!

Post by Hannah1 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:52 am

Hi,
I'm new to the Dhamma Wheel board, but my dad Glen Zorn is an ordained Buddhist monk who lives in a temple in Thailand. About 2 months ago he was diagnosed with an immediately life threatening aneurysm and transferred by ambulance to Chulalongkorn hospital in Bangkok. He was told his medical treatment and surgery would be free or very inexpensive (couple hundred dollars) because he is a monk, and monks have free healthcare in Thailand. The costs are either paid by the temple or the hospital, never the monk. Well, the hospital and temple both refused to pay his bill, only saying this after the surgery was done. So, since he's a monk with no money or possessions I'm the only one to pay the bill. I don't have that kind of money. My dad can't be released from the hospital until his bill is paid in full, or they will arrest him and dis-robe him (you go to jail for unpaid debt in Thailand).

I've set up a Go Fund Me page to help with the hospital bill. Even if you can't help, please share the page via social media and other boards. I wouldn't be going the crowd funding route if another option was available. Thank you, and please share!

Go Fund Me page:

http://www.gofundme.com/MonkGlenZorn" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Hannah

pilgrim

Re: American Buddhist Monk living in Thailand Needs Help!

Post by pilgrim » Fri Oct 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Its terrible that the temple or the hospital would do this to a monk of 40 vassas. I hope some friends in Thailand can help sort this out. Would it be wise to disclose the name of the hospital and temple here?

Joshua

Post by Joshua » Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:19 pm