New Translation Project from Sutta Central

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
mikenz66

New Translation Project from Sutta Central

Post by mikenz66 »

As Tilt wrote elsewhere:
tiltbillings wrote:Interesting stuff. Also, a couple of extra clicks and I found this (probably old news, but new to me).
Sujato wrote:I'd like to take the chance to announce a project that I have been working towards for the past several months. Many people have heard about this already, so it is no great secret, but I haven't taken the chance to formally announce it in public.

I am taking an 18 month sabbatical, during which time I plan to translate the 4 nikāyas from Pali into English; or at least, as much of them as I can.

My aim in doing this is to create an entirely new set of translations, which will differ from previous translations in several ways:
Continued here...
:anjali:
Mike
mikenz66

Re: New Translation Project from Sutta Central

Post by mikenz66 »

This discussion of translation style is interesting:
http://discourse.suttacentral.net/t/tra ... yas/341/18
Unfortunately, you need to click on the "1 Reply", so I'll copy it for convenience:
Sujato wrote:
Thanks for posting this, and allow me to explain in a little detail. Essentially my idea is to make it as simple as possible, but no simpler. Simplicity itself is not an aim; removing unnecessary obstacles to understanding is.

Let me take one phrase as an example. This is taken from SN 12.51, with Ven Bodhi's translation. I am choosing this not because it deserves criticism, but because it is the best available.
Apuññañce saṅkhāraṃ abhisaṅkharoti, apuññūpagaṃ hoti viññāṇaṃ.

if he generates a demeritorious volitional formation, consciousness fares on to the demeritorious.
This is in the context of dependent origination. Let's analyze the Pali as translated by Ven Bodhi, then I will propose a "simple" version.

Here is a discussion of the substantive terms.