Thai translation help

Casual discussion amongst spiritual friends.
Buckwheat

Thai translation help

Post by Buckwheat » Sun Aug 23, 2015 2:11 pm

I'm a musician and tempted to title a collection of music "farang music". How would I say "music" in Thai? Also, any suggestion for synonyms would be appreciated.

Thanks,
:anjali:
Sotthī hontu nirantaraṃ - May you forever be well.

samseva

Re: Thai translation help

Post by samseva » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:11 pm

Music
ดนตรี (pronounced don-dtrii)

'Farang music' in Thai would be spoken as 'music farang', as the adjective follows the noun.
ดนตรีฝรั่ง

daverupa

Post by daverupa » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:15 pm

Does this exist as a current phrase with idiomatic meaning, by chance?
  • "And how is it, bhikkhus, that by protecting oneself one protects others? By the pursuit, development, and cultivation of the four establishments of mindfulness. It is in such a way that by protecting oneself one protects others.

"And how is it, bhikkhus, that by protecting others one protects oneself? By patience, harmlessness, goodwill, and sympathy. It is in such a way that by protecting others one protects oneself.

- Sedaka Sutta [SN 47.19]

samseva

Post by samseva » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:20 pm

Music
ดนตรี (pronounced don-dtrii)

'Farang music' in Thai would be spoken as 'music farang', as the adjective follows the noun.
ดนตรีฝรั่ง
I am not Thai, so asking here would possibly be better.
http://www.thai-language.com/forums/f/translation/basic

Buckwheat

Post by Buckwheat » Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:09 am

thank you. I will check out the link.
Sotthī hontu nirantaraṃ - May you forever be well.

Dhammanando

Post by Dhammanando » Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:38 am

Buckwheat wrote:I'm a musician and tempted to title a collection of music "farang music". How would I say "music" in Thai? Also, any suggestion for synonyms would be appreciated.