New to Buddhism...stuck in the Bible Belt

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
Butrfly_Nirvana

New to Buddhism...stuck in the Bible Belt

Post by Butrfly_Nirvana »

Hello! I'm a 27yo stay home mom and while I'm living in the Bible Belt (Oklahoma), I have recently decided to stop allowing other people to make me feel guilty about not being a "good Christian"....I tried my best, but I just never really fit in. Then I realized that I didn't fit in, because I wasn't being honest about my beliefs. After some soul searching and research I found Theravada Buddhism to be my 'home' in a manner of speaking. While I am very new to all of this, I've been reading a lot, and for the first time I feel like it's right within me. I can't tell you the hours I've wasted trying to conform to Christianity, going through all the steps the church asked of me, and all the hours of endless reading only to be left more confused--nothing but feelings of doubt, and well, I guess disbelief! I'm sure that people outside my home are eventually going to try to 'save me', but after doing some reading, I feel prepared for that. I now feel like I have been empowered to be free from all those 'threats and promises' of another religion. I have never been more at peace in all my life. I don't feel awkward anymore, and I feel like I fit in now...which is a great feeling to find!

Sorry this is a bit long, but that's the back story on me. I look forward to becoming a part of this site! In the town I live in there are about 20 churches, all centered around Christianity in one form or another, but I've yet to find any Buddhists like me... But maybe they will start to surface as I seek them out! So until then, I may be on here quite often to connect with like minded people!

Oh, and before I forget, I do struggle with the pronunciation of some of the words, so if anyone has found a website or other resource that can help me that would be greatly appreciated!