New Member (From Ireland)

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
FCIM

New Member (From Ireland)

Post by FCIM »

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Buddhism but I have been following it for the last two to three months. I meditate daily and try to take on board the Buddha's teachings. I am particularly interested in discussing Buddhism and finding out more from more experienced practitioners of the Dhamma. I would also like to formally become Buddhist and the Theravāda path is the one which appeals most to me.

I live quite a long way from a sangha so am trying to find an online one which I can be part of as I won't be able to personally make it to one on a regular basis. Thank-you for reading my introduction.
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Re: New Member (From Ireland)

Post by Sam Vara »

Hello, and a warm welcome to Dhamma Wheel! :hello:
FCIM

Post by FCIM »

Sam Vara wrote: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:11 pm Hello, and a warm welcome to Dhamma Wheel! :hello:
Thanks. If anyone can point me in the direction of an online sangha I'd be grateful (or have I already found one here?).
Sam Vara
Site Admin

Post by Sam Vara »

FCIM wrote: Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:13 pm Thanks. If anyone can point me in the direction of an online sangha I'd be grateful (or have I already found one here?).
It depends on what you mean by a sangha. Here on DW there are lots of people who practice regularly, and some extremely wise and good people. There are a small number of monastics. But there are also a wide variety of different traditions and practices, so it's far from being like a sangha you might find based in a real-life monastery, for example.

You will certainly find people willing to share knowledge with you (some a bit too keen!) but I don't think you will find a unified approach here.

I don't know if you already are aware of the Irish Sangha Trust, but their details are here:

http://www.irishsanghatrust.ie/
bodom

Post by bodom »

Welcome!

:anjali: