Hey There!

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
bradyt112

Hey There!

Post by bradyt112 »

Hello all,

My name is Brady and this is my first time visiting this community. I am happy to have stumbled upon this forum and have been browsing some of the threads on here for a while now. I am very pleased with what I see and am grateful to have found it. I have been practicing Buddhism off and on for a couple years now and have just begun getting back into a regular meditation practice over the past week or so. I have bounced between Chan/Zen and the Theravada traditions since going to college and having some time and space to study on my own, but always find myself coming back to Theravada teachings for its pragmatism and clarity, as well as a personal confidence that the Tipitaka is reliable. This is the third or fourth time that I have stopped practicing and begun practicing again.

I will try to make this quick, but personally, there are at least three barriers to practice and belief that I encounter before I temporarily forgo Buddhism (and, as it seems, inevitably return to it) that I have identified:

1) My personal upbringing/beliefs imposed upon me by my parents (Christianity, which I rejected at age 15)
This is pretty self explanatory. My parents are very conservative Christians living in the Bible belt. I feel almost guilty for practicing a faith tradition that is contrary to my parents and they are unaware of my lack of faith in Christianity as well as my affinity for Buddhism. I simply do not discuss it with them. But I know that for some reason my past is a stumbling block for me to maintain a good routine.
2) When life gets good, I stop practicing, listening to dhamma talks, and reading suttas