Discouraged

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
Vakkali

Discouraged

Post by Vakkali »

So it's been about one month since I started practicing meditation daily. I'm using "Mindfulness in Plain English" as a guide, and he recommends developing some basic concentration first, so that's what I've been focusing on. I'm up to about twenty minutes per sitting, one sitting a day. Even after all this time, though, my mind bounces around like crazy. There ARE moments where I feel like I settle in, but they're rare. Do I just need more time? Am I not being diligent enough in returning to the breath when the mind wants to go somewhere else? I'm not a lost cause, right?
Khalil Bodhi

Re: Discouraged

Post by Khalil Bodhi »

Hi Vakkali,

This is all completely normal. It takes years of practice (lifetimes, in fact, for most of us) to gain a real foothold. In the interim take cheer knowing that you are cultivating paramis and engaging in supremely skillful behavior. Maybe 20 minutes is a bt much and you need to step it back a bit. Also, consider focusing on dana and service to help brighten the mind as well as natural, daily life meditation and mindfulness. Wishing you the very best!
To avoid all evil, to cultivate good, and to cleanse one's mind — this is the teaching of the Buddhas.
-Dhp. 183

The Stoic Buddhist: https://www.quora.com/q/dwxmcndlgmobmeu ... pOR2p0uAdH
My Practice Blog:
http://khalilbodhi.wordpress.com
Nicolas

Post by Nicolas »

I would say: try to be as present and aware as possible, and whenever you notice your mind bouncing, just gently return to your breath (or whatever meditation object you're using). What's important in my opinion is noticing when the mind bounces, because once you notice it's easy to get back into focus. With time the gaps of non-noticing will be shorter and shorter.