contemplating the aggregates

On the cultivation of insight/wisdom
alan...

contemplating the aggregates

Post by alan... »

can this be done in sitting meditation? how does one contemplate each aggregate? in particular consciousness?
retrofuturist

Re: contemplating the aggregates

Post by retrofuturist »

Greetings Alan...,

Yes ~ instructions are in the Satipatthana Sutta.

Metta,
Retro. :)
"Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things."
alan...

Post by alan... »

retrofuturist wrote:Greetings Alan...,

Yes ~ instructions are in the Satipatthana Sutta.

Metta,
Retro. :)
okay, this is actually the sutta i'm studying so i'll give my questions line by line then:

"How, O bhikkhus, does a bhikkhu live contemplating mental objects in the mental objects of the five aggregates of clinging?

"Here, O bhikkhus, a bhikkhu thinks: 'Thus is material form; thus is the arising of material form; and thus is the disappearance of material form. so here am i doing this in sitting meditation also or just while up and about? also, am i just watching this happen or thinking about it in relation to the things mentioned in the commentary to the refrain about insight:

""Contemplating origination-things." Also dissolution-things are included here. Origination and dissolution should be dwelt upon by way of the fivefold method beginning with the words: "He, thinking 'the origination of materiality comes to be through the origination of ignorance,' in the sense of the origin of conditions, sees the arising of the aggregate of materiality."?

most teachers teach non verbalized viewing of arising and passing away but the commentary seems to be implying a thought process, or perhaps it's just giving that as background information???