Debt and how you deal with it....

Buddhist ethical conduct including the Five Precepts (Pañcasikkhāpada), and Eightfold Ethical Conduct (Aṭṭhasīla).
Myotai

Debt and how you deal with it....

Post by Myotai »

Hi,

I had a lucrative career in IT many years ago. I accrued some debts, loans for various it's n bits that were the 'rewards' for hard work and a financially generous job.

I changed careers to work in social care ultimately retraining and I'm now a Psychological Therapist treating people for a variety of mental health disorders.

My salary now is what I used to get as a bonus!!

Some of those debts that I was able to pay at the time have come back to haunt me now. I'm having to face some litigation and rather complex issues that I'm finding really stressful.

I was wondering if you had experienced some real financial issues and how you dealt with them internally? The practicalities I can manage. But it's starting to feel like I am burdened or infected by them now and I can't seem to think my way out of that horrible feeling.

Thanks to you all....
Crazy cloud

Re: Debt and how you deal with it....

Post by Crazy cloud »

I have been on a steady slip slidin away down the social ladder for the last three years, and my best friend has been awareness or emtiness - that is my real home, and i've put it to the test a lot of times, and it doesn't fail in times of hardship. I'm quite sure that wordly facts wont change, but it is okay, and I just keep on trusting the teaching and resting in the here and now - and I try my best not to project my sufferings onto the world, but solve it at it's source (me myself and I) with kindfulness,

The positive outcome of the whole matter, is that i get a lot of experience and meditations are really interesting when things are real bad and disgusting

So my advice is to develop your own trust in "your true dwelling place" and put it to the test!

Be well and happy as can be, dear fellow striver :candle:
If you didn't care