Dullness arising from lack of emotion in meditation

General discussion of issues related to Theravada Meditation, e.g. meditation postures, developing a regular sitting practice, skillfully relating to difficulties and hindrances, etc.
dhamma_learner

Dullness arising from lack of emotion in meditation

Post by dhamma_learner »

Hello all,

I have found that, during many of my meditation sessions, I experience a sense of ill-will which I believe arises from a lack of anything "special" happening during my meditation. What I mean by "special" is experiencing any sense of beauty, happiness, or bliss. I have found that, during the time that I become extremely calm and focused during meditation, my emotions seem to become dimmer as well. There is a certain point at which I perceive that I neither feel positive nor negative emotions at all. I admit that that I have some desire to experience blissful feelings during meditation, and so the lack of feeling at all can act as a hindrance to my meditation. In fact, it is not simply a lack of emotion, but also a dullness, or numbness, that arises from this lack of feeling, and with it goes my motivation as well. Could this perhaps suggest that I am simply ignoring or even repressing my emotions? If so, I would very much appreciate hearing some suggestions as to how to deal with this problem.

With metta,

dhamma_learner
Ben

Re: Dullness arising from lack of emotion in meditation

Post by Ben »

Wanting something special and developing aversion to what is being experienced is the problem.
During meditation - maintain your focus on the meditation object.
Meditation isn't about having pleasant experiences, its about developing samatha (concentration) and vipassana (insight). If your meditation experience is pleasant, unpleasant or neither - it is largely irrelevant and no indication of efficacy or progress.
kind regards,

Ben