Seeking ordination 2: the revival of the aspiration

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
brainprogrammed

Seeking ordination 2: the revival of the aspiration

Post by brainprogrammed »

Hello Dhamma brothers and sisters, I hope you are very well and happy :smile:

Let me introduce myself first: my name is Miguel Rico, I´m 29 years old and I´m from Bogotá /Colombia - south america.
For the last 7 years I´ve been studying and practicing the Buddha Dhamma. With Buddhism from one side I´m also a Yoga student and I work as a Yoga teacher.

I first encountered Buddha Dhamma within the Tibetan tradition and a few years later I became interested in getting ordained. On 2013 I lived in Nalanda (a Gelugpa Tibetan Monastery for westerners in the south of France) and I was going to get ordained there but in the end I declined. Later I lived in Dhammapala Monastery in Switzerland and then I came back to Colombia. Since then I´ve studying pretty much the early discourses (suttas/agamas) and I have a eager interest in investigating and follow the early teachings of the Buddha.

Now, 2 years later after living again a normal life I decided that the best is to get ordained and now having just a little more experience in both traditions I will like to get ordained under the Theravada tradition so I´m searching as far as possible for the best suitable Monastery for me.

The plan is to travel probably on 2016...right i´m on the saving money mode :guns:

I´m interested: in a Monastery that can give as far as possible proper training and guidance on the Dhamma, meditation and monastic rules according to the suttas/agamas and not based on the commentaries and late interpretations. :reading:

-I´m interested on a Monastery that can be open and respect other traditions, etc.