Unsure where to go

Discussion of ordination, the Vinaya and monastic life. How and where to ordain? Bhikkhuni ordination etc.
DavidMetta

Unsure where to go

Post by DavidMetta »

Hello all,

I have a dilemma that I need help solving. :thinking: I am in my last year of high school and I have decided that a year prior to going to university I want to live the monastic life, but I have no idea where no go. I have looked through many documents and websites speaking of places to go, but I am still unsure. Thailand and Burma tend to be the most appealing to me, but most of all I care about learning from a good master. If any of you have information or recommendations of monasteries it would be much appreciated.
martinfrank

Re: Unsure where to go

Post by martinfrank »

An easy place to go is Wat Sriboonruang

http://www.templeretreatthailand.com/

A good master is Ajahn Dtun

http://www.watboonyawad.com/new/books/T ... -07-13.pdf

Beware of Internet monastery shopping! Ultimately the success or failure of your stay will be decided by your attitude and whether you'll make Dhamma friends at the monastery you stay. Don't fall into the error of believing that as a first year monk student you need the most famous meditation master in the world to teach you. What you need is a kind teacher who understands first year monk student problems and more than everything else, monk brother friends.

It would be best for you to shortlist three to five monasteries and then go to Thailand and visit the monasteries to see where you are welcome. There are thousands of good monasteries in Thailand alone, and many more in Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.

If you are a student of Mahasi Sayadaw style Vipassana meditation, then you'll find in Myanmar famous meditation centers and monasteries which teach in this tradition.